A New Nameplate Tradition

Written by Typographica on April 19, 2009

One of the Typographica rituals of which we’re most fond is the rotating nameplate. Each design was created and submitted by a reader, reflecting the site’s collaborative nature and keeping things fresh, while offering type and graphic designers the opportunity to show off their latest work. We’ve saved 152 of the 154 nameplates for posterity. The other two? Their fate is known only to Dr. Hermann Pütershein.

Above: A collection of 152 reader-submitted nameplates — all the way back to June, 2002. Push play. If you sit here long enough you can see them all!

Now that we have a new Typographica, it’s time for a new nameplate tradition. This redesign is all about the type, so there’s no better element to crown the page (and drive the main navigation) than a fresh typeface every few weeks.

Anyone is welcome to submit their typeface for consideration as a future Typographica nameplate. There are two requirements:

  1. The typeface must fit Typographica’s ethereal and undocumented requirements for design and readability.
  2. We’ll request a sponsorship fee to keep the site running

The nameplate typeface is credited in the header of every page on the site and linked permanently in the list below. Please contact the editor if interested.

Nameplate Archive
Apr 2009 — Dessau by Gábor Kóthay
May 2009 — Stag Stencil by Christian Schwartz
Jun 2009 — FF Tartine Script by Xavier Dupré
Jul 2009 — Dez Squeeze by Chris Lozos
Aug 2009 — Calluna by Jos Buivenga
Oct 2009 — Bonesana by Matthieu Cortat
Jan 2010 — FF Yoga Sans by Xavier Dupré
Sep 2010 — Geotica by Jos Buivenga
Dec 2010 — Satura by Göran Söderström by Peter Bruhn
Jan 2010 — Calluna Sans by Jos Buivenga
Feb 2010 — Swagg by Richard Miller
Mar 2010 — Sweet Sans by Mark van Bronkhorst
Apr 2011 — ARS Maquette by Angus R. Shamal
May 2011 — Sweet Square by Mark van Bronkhorst
Feb 2012 — FF Quadraat Web by Fred Smeijers
Jan 2013 — MVB Verdigris by Mark van Bronkhorst
Feb 2013 — Vinter by Frode Helland and Telefon by Sindre Bremnes
May 2013 — Bureau Grot by David Berlow, Jill Pichotta, Christian Schwartz, and Richard Lipton
Sep 2013 — MVB Solitaire by Mark van Bronkhorst
Oct 2013 — Baton by Yassin Baggar and Anton Koovit
Feb 2014 — Sutro Deluxe by Jim Parkinson
Oct 2014 — Orwellian by Shiva Nallaperumal
Feb 2015 — Blesk by Samarskaya & Partners
Jun 2015 — Eksell Display by Letters from Sweden
Jul 2015 — Stenciletta by Joachim Müller-Lancé
Aug 2015 — ATF Wedding Gothic by ATF Collection
Nov 2015 — Tenez by Rodrigo Saiani
Feb 2016 — Beausite by Yassin Baggar
Apr 2016 — Grifo by Rui Abreu
May 2016 — Gitan by Florian Runge

Post a Comment

Comments at Typographica are moderated and copyedited, just like newspaper “Letters to the Editor”. Abusive or off-topic comments are not published. We appreciate compliments, but don’t publish them unless they add to the dialog. Thank you!